…and then the world

“where nothing we’ve actually seen has been mapped or outlined…”

which way up? drawing and reading maps of the blogosphere

with one comment

My presentation at Ignite was about maps of the blogosphere, the kind of approaches used, and the information provided by different formats. Rather than being specifically related to my current research, I wanted to investigate this topic as it may form part of my phd later on, and also because it involved maps and I wanted a break from all the theory I’d been reading and writing about for my proposal.

The presentation went okay, I think, although through my nervous state at the time I don’t remember what I said. There were a lot of questions, though, and some excellent feedback and positive comments about what I’d presented, with several people being similarly inspired by maps. I’ve written up some notes from the questions as part of my new writing routine, which I’ll try and use in follow-up work. The paper itself, I haven’t decided what to do with it, whether it’ll be submitted for the proceedings journal or not (I’ll make my mind up over the next few days), but it’ll either be linked to or uploaded here later.

Powerpoint, with pictures and slideshare’s wonderful “mucking up the text formatting” abilities:

Written by Tim

6 October, 2008 at 1:58 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] over three days: 27-29 October, QUT Creative Industries Precinct, Kelvin Grove, Brisbane. I presented at the previous conference in October 2008, and recommend it as a venue for presenting research or […]


Leave a Reply

